Skip to content

Weekend Reading

September 30, 2012

I have a habit of sending some good articles I read (per my assessment – agreed that this is very subjective) to a bunch of my friends (who are usually in my “care about” list). So, I thought I will start posting a series of Weekend reading posts like Rajesh Jain’s Emergic.org. This way I can combine them into one post and also keep an archive that will not only be useful to me but to all my friends as well. So, the list for this week(end) is as follows:

1. http://12most.com/2012/09/28/ways-to-make-communication-sparkle/: This is a post about networking and communicating effectively. It did echo with me quite a bit. From the article:

“The speaker just had a sparkle in his eye that transformed his presentation from boring to soaring. We can all sparkle like my HR friend in our communication. It doesn’t have to be a presentation; we can sparkle in conversations, walking down the street or even ordering a cup of coffee”

2. http://opinionator.blogs.nytimes.com/2012/06/30/the-busy-trap/?emc=eta1: This is an article about the “busy” trap we fall into and missing the essential beautiful bits of life (and living). I completely agree with this author. I myself am a bit lazy and less ambitious in life. Being ambitious was never the nature of my being. I was and am never really busy for some reason. I always have time to just hang out :-). From the article:

It’s almost always people whose lamented busyness is purely self-imposed: work and obligations they’ve taken on voluntarily, classes and activities they’ve “encouraged” their kids to participate in. They’re busy because of their own ambition or drive or anxiety, because they’re addicted to busyness and dread what they might have to face in its absence.

3. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6uW-E496FXg&feature=related: This Steve Jobs’ i-phone release presentation (hat tip: my friend Soumya). Notice the quality of his speech. No “aah”s, no “uumm”s, no “you know”s, no awkward silences and no reading out of a script. The speech is measured, effective and creates a powerful impact. This is clearly the art of deliberate speaking. Christopher Hitchens is also such a good speaker. The contrast is obvious when the other CEOs he invites speak. Now that I am a Toastmaster, I started noticing this and every time when I am speaking in a meeting or a conf call or in any general conversations, I am very conscious of the “aah”s, “umm”s or “you knows” and trying to minimize them.

That’s it for this week. Enjoy reading/listening.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

