Skip to content

Weekend Reading

October 12, 2012

1. India is poor by choice by Atanu Dey in Niti Central. Atanu’s articles on India’s development are a must read for anyone trying to understand economic development in general and why India is poor in particular. From the article:

Robert Lucas, Jr., Economics Nobel laureate put it thus, “I do not see how one can look at figures like these without seeing them representing possibilities. Is there some action a Government of India could take that would lead the Indian economy to grow…? If so, what exactly? If not, what is it about the “nature of India” that makes it so? The consequences for human welfare involved in questions like these are simply staggering: once one starts to think about them, it is hard to think about anything else.”

The last three lines of this quote from Robert Lucas are quoted widely. I did not realize until I read this that the context of this was India’s development (or lack thereof). This quote BTW is heart stirring. Every time I read this quote, I get overwhelmed.

2. Healthy Sleep: Some good tips on getting a good sleep. How many tips ever there are out there, the main reason for lack of sleep is simply stress in my opinion. And then afternoon naps are a must for me. Unfortunately, I don’t have this luxury. Therefore, I doze off in meetings 🙂

3. NY Times Inspiration Issue. An article about what inspires great work.

4. chandamaama chandamaama raavayyaa: A cute telugu song that every telugu kid anywhere in the world grows up listening to. This has been ensembled by musicians and singers all over the world (who don’t know any Telugu). Beautifully composed…Do listen and enjoy the melody. These are the moments that make me feel proud about my Telugu heritage…The description lists the tune is from a folk song in Chennai but I doubt if it is right (inspite of Chennai having a significant Telugu population). I am not sure about the origin of this song though.

Enjoy 🙂

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Roli permalink

    About the sleep article – agree about the stress part. But caffeine and sleep correlation has changed with age. Alas, there was a time when I could drink tea and go right off to sleep, no more :(. But exercise and sleep correlation doesnt seem to hold true for me. With all the other constrains, I will often run after everything is done for the day i.e. just before sleeping, but I have no trouble with sleep. I guess, as with everything else, one has to figure out what works.

  2. Yes Roli, I used to be able to sleep well after a strong Starbucks Mocha. But now, I can’t. I have become sensitive to coffee as well. I do have trouble with sleep if I exercise in the night. I prefer morning runs for that runs. I am always for a nap any time but it bothers me that I can’t take it often.

Leave a Reply

