Skip to content

Sanskrit Scholars Honored

October 20, 2012

http://www.thehindu.com/arts/history-and-culture/sanskrit-scholars-honoured/article3965132.ece

Whenever and wherever Sanskrit scholars are honored, it warms the cockles of my heart. I come from a family of Sanskrit scholars. The photo in the news link has my maternal uncle O.S. Ramlal Sharma, an expert on Tarka (Indian logic). He is second from left in the photo.

I grew up in a kind of environment where discussions on Vedanta, Tarka (Indian logic), and Saahitya (literature) in general family gatherings, festivals, and honoring teachers from time to time was a common thing to do. My mother is a retired professor in Sanskrit. I did not learn Sanskrit but I can normally pick up the language sometimes with a relative ease.

This news made my day.

Yoga

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

